Nude in a Red Chair – sold

Redchair

Oil on hardboard panel, 7″x5″

While painting this one I focused on the angles and the light falling across the figure. It’s a serene seated pose but I like the energy produced by the various angles of the arms and legs. The unusual vintage chair and the paneled interior add to the timeless charm of this painting.

This model is just as naked as the one in my previous painting, Standing Male Nude, but so far no one who’s seen it has had any discomfort with her body or level of nudity. Everyone also seemed to think that my earlier female nude, Woman in Bathtub – sold was just a nice painting. It’s a minor thing but interesting to me that male bodies seem to trigger a reaction of mild discomfort, even in a painting, whereas a female nude is seen as pretty standard stuff.

2 thoughts on “Nude in a Red Chair – sold

  1. Wow, this is a really beautiful image. I think you have captured a certain pensiveness in the model and pose really well. I am in awe, I really like the warm colours and strong abstract shape the background makes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

